The Nevada Association of School Superintendents (NASS) is a statewide nonprofit educational organization which strives to provide support to leaders of Nevada’s most important public institutions get better results for more than 486,000 students.  Across 18 school districts, more than 720 public schools receive support from NASS.

Our Purpose

The purpose of the Nevada Association of School Superintendents is to take action through leadership, training, support and advocacy to ensure the highest quality of education for all students within the State of Nevada. 

Meet the Leadership Team

2020-21 NASS Officers

Russell Fecht



Pershing County School District

Dr. Summer Stephens

Vice President


Churchill County School District

Dr. Jesus Jara



Clark County School District

Executive Director

Susan Keema

Susan Keema is the Executive Director of the Nevada Association of School Superintendents (NASS).  Before joining NASS in July 2019, Susan served as the Associate Superintendent for Educational Services within the Carson City School District.  Susan’s scope of responsibilities included overseeing the development of Pre-K -12 curriculum and assessments, providing learner-centered professional development for adults and supervising accountability systems.  Key initiatives include Implementing 1:1 mobile technology for each student in grades 3-12 in order to promote STEM, partnering with higher education institutions to implement Jumpstart College and applying the district’s Race–to-the-Top curriculum/assessment model K-12. 


Susan Received her bachelor’s degree in Home Economics from the University of Wisconsin Stout, her master’s degree from Colorado State University and her administrative endorsement from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.  During her 37 years in education, Susan also served in various instructional capacities within the Elko and Clark County School Districts.  She was named the 2013 Nevada Central Office Administrator of the Year. Susan also received the 2014 Western Nevada College award for Educational Innovation.  Susan is dedicated to supporting education leaders and assisting them in the vital role of preparing Nevada’s youth for their future.

Maintained by: Nevada Association of School Superintendents 2019